Attitude of Gratitude Day 1

As 2015 draws to a close it is apparent that the world is on edge. Recent events have made us uneasy. The troubles we see broadcast on the news on a local, national and global scale are a daily reminder that terrible things are happening in the world and that life is indeed fragile.

It is upsetting to see our beautiful planet earth damaged and the many wars going on all around the world are so confusing that it’s sometimes difficult to know what is right and what is wrong. I fear for my children when I lie awake at night, images from the news hard to shake off, and I wonder what the future is going to look like for them.

It is so easy to get weighed down by the things we hear about, to allow ourselves to feel powerless. However, I don’t believe that it is human nature to give up hope and when I look around me in my own daily life I can see so many things to feel grateful for. They might seem like small, insignificant things, but surely being grateful for the things we do have is only a good thing? A friend recently started on an endeavour to share on her own Facebook page things that she is grateful for over a period of 7 days.

So, in support, the next few posts to this blog will acknowledge the things that I personally am grateful for.

TIME

I can often be heard moaning that there just isn’t enough time to do everything. Sometimes I wish I could press pause on a remote control to make time stand still while I play catch-up with my jobs about the house, my studies and even my own thoughts. I’ve often found myself exhausted at the end of the day thinking ‘I’ve been run ragged all day, but what did I actually achieve, and was there any joy in today?’.

This past week I ‘made time’. When my eyes got heavy reading about morphology, etymology and synonymy, instead of continuing, I took a step back, made myself a cup of chai tea, sat in silence and just organised my thoughts. It was actually pretty lovely and energising too. I continued with my reading, my head clearer and my heart happier and got caught up.

I took some ‘time out’ also this week to prepare meals and snacks for my family. Eating healthily is really important to me and I feel so much better when I am getting the right foods into my body (and yes, I am thankful that we have enough money to buy food to feed our family, we so often take this for granted). We had got into a bit of a rut of eating the same things so it was nice to try some new recipes and I feel it was time well spent. So, I am grateful that there is time to spare for the things that matter to me if I just learn to take a step back, take a deep breath, use my moments wisely and enjoy this life I have been given.

If you want to join me in sharing what you are thankful for, feel free to leave a comment.

NOKIALUMIA - WIN_20151126_111529
Puffed rice bars I made as an after school snack
Leave a Reply

