Attitude of Gratitude Day 5

PEOPLE WHO CARE

Today I had a check up with my GP. I arrived at the surgery a few minutes before my appointment and didn’t have to wait long before my name was called.

The Doctor listened attentively, offered me advice and made an appointment for me to get some blood tests later in the day.

When I arrived back at the surgery, the friendly nurse took my bloods and explained to me what was being tested and when the results would be due back. I left feeling at ease.

After school, the children were all scheduled for a visit to the dentist. Each was called one at a time for their check up and came out beaming because they had been given a Spiderman sticker. The dentist and her assistant had smiled and chatted, told the boys they were good brushers and that their teeth were ‘perfect’. All in all a successful trip.

I so often hear people moaning about the NHS, about waiting times and bad service, but this has never been my experience. I spent a lot of time in hospital during my 3 pregnancies and always felt really cared for.

I understand it can be frustrating to have to wait weeks for an appointment, but we are so lucky to have a health service and people who genuinely care about their profession.

We are so fortunate to live in a country where we can lift up the phone to make an appointment, that we have access to medication should we need it and further referrals to other professionals if required. There are so many people in the world that don’t have this privilege that I often take for granted.

Today I am grateful for the doctors, nurses and dentists and all those people who work long hours in caring roles, you really are amazing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

