The 13-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton

A REVIEW

WIN_20160114_100758

So, last night, we decided, my 3 sons and I, to throw the television out of the window and curl up on the sofa with a book instead. We snuggled up, all 4 of us in one tiny corner of the sofa, me all wedged in with them and their delightful boy/dirty sock smells. It was fun.

I read aloud from our latest choice of ‘reading out loud together’ book The 13-Storey Treehouse, which is written by Andy Griffiths and illustrated rather cleverly by Terry Denton.

Let me just say, this is THE perfect book to read out loud. It is fast-paced and witty, we were all hooked from the first page and despite it being a children’s novel-sized book, it can easily be devoured in one sitting – I mean read in one go, don’t go pulling an Incredible Book Eating Boy stunt, that would just be daft, and we all know what happened to him…

Anyhow…The 13-Storey Treehouse is tree-mendous (?!) fun. The chapter about the  sea monkeys was particularly interesting because my middle son got bought some for Christmas, so he went to bed fearing nightmares about being tickled by monster mermaid tentacles. Although, I do have to admit, I heartily believe it was my impersonation skills that made that chapter really jump off the page. Apparently my impression of Mermaidia sounded remarkably similar to Professor Trelawney from Harry Potter when she went off on one with her crystal ball! I clearly missed my calling in life…

Back to the book… so, if you fancy a good ‘ol roll on the floor laugh,  like literally, not like ‘rofl’, where there’s no actual rolling involved, then this is the book for you. Get wedged in somewhere cosy (suggestions include a beanbag, a hammock, a bed, a trampoline and a treehouse but you can decide) with your little people, just ensure there’s space for rib-rattling  laughter and flailing arms and ENJOY! If at first they think they’d rather go play Lego, just start reading, and watch as the words lassoo them round the neck and reign them in.

I asked my boys, aged 5, 7 and 10 for some words to describe the book. Here’s  what they came up with: frantic, buzzy, loud, weird, cool, shiny, mental, funny and exciting…

I have a  sneaking suspicion that tonight we are going to be climbing up into The 26-Storey Treehouse  for the next instalment of Andy and Terry’s series…my ribs are ready and my impersonation skills are being fine-tuned, bring it on!

You can find out more about Andy Griffiths at http://www.andygriffiths.com.au or like me, follow him on Twitter at @AndyGbooks

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

